The Writers' Hub has become MIROnline. The site remains for archival purposes but will no longer be updated. Head over to our new website to see weekly short stories, poems and creative non-fiction from Birkbeck and beyond.
writers' hub
Hub Editor
Hub Editor

Bridport Prize 2011

International Creative Writing Competition for Poems, Short Stories and Flash Fiction

The Bridport Prize 2011 website is now open for entries!

The Bridport Prize is the richest open writing competition in the English language - with a £5000 first prize for a short story (of up to 5000 words) and a £5000 first prize for a poem (of up to 42 lines).
The new category of Flash Fiction attracts £1,000, which can be won for the best short, short story of under 250 words.

The Bridport is also known as a tremendous literary stepping stone - the first step in the careers of writers such as Kate Atkinson, Tobias Hill, Carol Ann Duffy and Helen Dunmore.

Anyone can enter - so long as the work is previously unpublished. It costs £7 per story, £6 per poem or £5 per flash fiction and the closing date is 30th June 2011

Each year the prize is judged by well known writers. This year Carol Ann Duffy will be judging the poetry and AL Kennedy the short stories and flash fiction

The 2010 anthology of winning entries is available for just £12 or £15 overseas (including postage and packing). The 2009 and 2008 anthologies are available in limited numbers for £7 and £5 (£10 and £8 overseas)

Enter online at:

or download an entry form:

or email for a pdf entry form:

or send an SAE for an entry form to be posted to you

The Bridport Prize
PO Box 6910


Possible query programming error. Error:Got error 28 from storage engine