The Writers' Hub has become MIROnline. The site remains for archival purposes but will no longer be updated. Head over to our new website to see weekly short stories, poems and creative non-fiction from Birkbeck and beyond.
writers' hub
Hub Editor
Hub Editor

Orange Prize Longlist 2011

The 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction long list has been announced. Congratulations to Writers' Hub-featured and Birkbeck alumnus Emma Henderson for the inclusion of her novel, Grace Williams Says it Loud.


The titles chosen are:

  • Lyrics Alley by Leila Aboulela (Weidenfeld & Nicolson) - Sudanese; 3rd Novel
  • Jamrach's Menagerie by Carol Birch (Canongate) - British; 10th Novel
  • Room by Emma Donoghue (Picador) - Irish; 7th Novel
  • The Pleasure Seekers by Tishani Doshi (Bloomsbury) - Indian; 1st Novel
  • Whatever You Love by Louise Doughty (Faber and Faber) - British; 6th Novel
  • A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan (Corsair) - American; 4th Novel
  • The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna (Bloomsbury) - British/Sierra Leonean; 3rd Novel
  • The London Train by Tessa Hadley (Jonathan Cape) - British; 4th Novel
  • Grace Williams Says it Loud by Emma Henderson (Sceptre) - British; 1st Novel
  • The Seas by Samantha Hunt (Corsair) - American; 1st Novel
  • The Birth of Love by Joanna Kavenna (Faber and Faber) - British; 2nd Novel
  • Great House by Nicole Krauss (Viking) - American; 3rd Novel
  • The Road to Wanting by Wendy Law-Yone (Chatto & Windus) - American; 3rd Novel
  • The Tiger's Wife by Téa Obreht (Weidenfeld & Nicolson) - Serbian/American; 1st Novel
  • The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer (Viking) - American; 1st Novel
  • Repeat it Today with Tears by Anne Peile (Serpent's Tail) - British; 1st Novel
  • Swamplandia! by Karen Russell (Chatto & Windus) - American; 1st Novel
  • The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives by Lola Shoneyin (Serpent's Tail) - British/Nigerian; 1st Novel
  • The Swimmer by Roma Tearne (Harper Press) - British; 4th Novel
  • Annabel by Kathleen Winter (Jonathan Cape) - Canadian; 1st Novel

The judges on this year's panel are Bettany Hughes, (Chair), Liz Calder, Tracy Chevalier, Helen Lederer and Susanna Reid.


The shortlist will be announced on 12 April and the award ceremony takes place on 8 June.



Possible query programming error. Error:Got error 28 from storage engine